Changes to private health insurance

Changes to Private Health Insurance affecting Bariatric Surgery

Check if you are a candidate for bariatric surgery. Queries will be answered by Dr Jon Armstrong.
Combined Shape
private health insurance changes
Combined Shape

The Australian Government has introduced changes to private health insurance in order to give greater clarity around health insurance and the services covered. This makes it easier to compare hospital products, so you, as patients find the best cover. The levels of cover for insurance are now classified into four tiers – Gold, Silver, Bronze and Basic.

How does this affect me and insurance I have or should look into getting?

Bariatric, Spinal, Cataract and some Orthopaedic surgeries are all insured at the highest level – Gold Tier Cover.

Contact your health fund to see if you are covered for Bariatric procedures or call us on 9386 2634 to discuss.

Perth bariatric surgeon


At Advance Surgical, Mr Jon Armstrong and the team help people who want to lose weight through bariatric surgery, suffer from an endocrine disorder or need general surgery.

Bariatric surgeon Perth


Combined Shape

Established in 2005

When we established Advance Surgical our motivation was to help those who find that diet and exercise are simply not working for them.

The cost of bariatric surgery

We understand the cost of bariatric surgery may be an issue. We have changed our pricing to be more affordable. Payment plans available.

Team of specialists

Mr Jon Armstrong, Medical Director and Founder alongside the team at Advance Surgical, have helped thousands of people in Perth.